Posted by: onawhimsey | October 29, 2008

Stonehenge, UK

The story really all began because DH is having his birthday on Saturday!  All the kids are coming with their respective partners as well as our grand daughter!  So,there will be 11 of us in total – quite a feat for us as a family since we all live in different parts of UK, do a variety of jobs, have a diverse range of activities etc. But, Saturday, they will all be here!

Thoughts then went to a birthday card for my DH.  I didn’t really want to buy a shop bought one knowing that he enjoys my encaustic paintings.  What better treat than to paint one just for him?  This I did.  As usual I messed around with various colours and effects until I stumbled on the idea of painting a version of an ancient monument we would both like to visit together.  Over the years we have visited but it would be nice to go together.  P1020378Meanwhile, I had some card so did small painting to place in the aperture to make a special, unique card.  On the right you will see my first attempt but I wasn’t really happy with this.

But then that painting evolved into this one!

P1020379

Well, of course, now I have to hide it!!!  Following on from that one I decided to paint a larger version but on canvas, I do like that form of support!

I would say it looks more impressionistic but it will show how each painting cannot be replicated because of the medium.

See what you think? P1020380

Responses

  1. Your encaustics are really quite beautiful. The colors are so brilliant. Thanks for your comment on my site – it is good to know there are others out there who like to play with all kinds of mediums.

  2. those are amazing paintings 🙂

  3. This is a beautiful painting! I am sure your DH loved it. Thanks for stopping by and commenting on my blog. I am glad to find another encaustic enthusiast 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

