Posted by: onawhimsey | September 11, 2008

9/11

Today is one of those days when you can look back and remember all too vividly.  You can actually recount exactly where you were and what you are doing.  As time goes on it doesn’t dilute but it does bring a time to reflect on how we are all coping and moving on, if at all.

Many people lost their lives on that fateful day.  People from the US, UK and many other countries.

I was in the UK and remember where I was working that day and what my family were doing.  I returned from a day at work to find the light flashing like mad on our phone at home.  After interrogating it I was rather disturbed to hear messages from our youngest son’s friends who were urgently trying to tell me not to worry about him!  Why?  What had happened?  I knew he was attending a seminar in New York since he worked for Continental in UK.  Next, my husband who was returning from a trip to Ireland , tried to contact me with a phone text in which he repeatedly told me to switch on the TV and watch.  Now, I really did start to panic and switched on to see what was happening.

The TV came on to display the most surreal pictures.  My eyes saw but the brain could not comprehend or understand the images that were being shown.  Complete disbelief as we all watched and watched again trying to come to terms with the sights and sounds we were being fed on the news channel.

We were lucky that our son was safe.  He had been across the river in a classroom and virtually saw events unfold.  Luckily, he had managed to alert some of his friends to let me know he was safe and would be in touch as soon as possible.  Communication was difficult, as you can imagine.  Some days later he was able to leave New York and return home, thankfully.

Life was never the same for many of us after that day.  Never more so for those who lost dearly loved members of their family and friends.

It really is important never to forget the evil that can be perpetrated in the name of religion?  Does it matter, does the reason really matter?  The act here is the abomination.  There are still so many lessons to be learnt from that day.

As we pause for a moment to reflect, remember the words Churchill once said, Lest we forget! 

Responses

  1. Great post. To this day, every time I go into the city, my heart stops for just a minute. The view of Manhattan will never be the same – It used to bring me joy, now it brings sadness. To drive by where the World Trade Centers once were is still a gut wrenching experience and the little nagging fear in the pit of your stomach returns every time.

  2. A very poignant reminder Pat. Thank you.

  3. thanks for sharing your story.
    god bless…

  4. I remember and I pause for a moment to honour those lives lost.


Leave a Reply

Categories

