Posted by: onawhimsey | August 9, 2008

Fantasy!

As a child I was brought up on the Grimms fairy tales.  People are worried these days about violence and anger etc in modern day stories.  What about the old fashioned fairy tales?  Now they were scary!  All those witches, baddies, evil people but one thing always happened.  Good overcame evil!

Whilst wandering around in my encaustic world I created a couple of ACEOs which reflected those old fashioned days.  When giants lived in their castles way up in the clouds or different long distant lands.  When imagination ruled and you could imagine fairies living in their magical homes.

Responses

  1. You’re right, Grimms was some frightening stuff. Your encaustics are beautiful. Some do have that edge but many are peaceful and serene like your Everglade.

  2. I like what you said about the old fairy tales – “good overcame evil”! Your right! kindness, character & resourcefulness were rewarded. Oh, I almost forgot.. these 2 paintings are great!! 🙂

  3. Absolutely beautiful. My kids are now 22 and 19. People were debating this same issue back when they were little too, often bringing Grimm’s fairy tales into discussion, not to mention Disney. I know the witch in Snow White scared the heck out of me as a child. However, I don’t think it left any scars. People need to lighten up! I, for one, love these old fairy tales and think they have a proper place in children’s imaginations.

  4. I’ve always thought your encaustics had a touch of fantasy to them. They go well with the magical world.


Leave a Reply

Categories

