Posted by: onawhimsey | June 8, 2008

Here we are in June, already?

They say times flies when you are having fun!! Well, I guess this must be the case since I have created some more encaustics for you to view.

Desolation

Desolation

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
This painting is created in the form of an ACEO (3.5″ x 2.5″) using just my little old travel iron!

Tidal Movement

Tidal Movement

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
Just under the surface movement sways the seaweed to and fro, sand is disturbed with the tidal movement. Made more dramatic after a storm when winds have rushed inland after whipping up the shoreline. Just like our emotions in turmoil when we are angry or upset before things calm down.

This painting was completed using encaustic paints (beeswax) manipulated with a hot iron, tissue paper and is just under 8″ x 11.5″ (A4 size).

Monet inspired this next one……

Inspired by Monet

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
I looked at Monet’s Haystacks at Giverny (1884) and was inspired to do my version… note I did not say copy!!!!

 Size is just under 8″ x 11.5″ (A4 size).

Mysterious Depths……

Mysterious Depths

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
Coming to the edge of this deep pool with running water I gazed up the other embankment only to see steep steps leading up. Natural sunlight was filtering down allowing me to view the rocks and spare vegetation making me feel as if I was the only person left.

This painting was completed using encaustic waxes, a hot iron and is just under 16.5″ x 11.5″ (A3 size).

Grim Reaper

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
I called this a Vision of the Grim Reaper! 

Fear and trepidation murmurred through the crowds! That cold finger of fear settled around my heart when I had the vision of the Grim Reaper – was he to do his work here, be gone!!!

Again, this was created in an ACEO dimension 3.5″ x 2.5″

Leave a Reply

Categories

