Posted by: onawhimsey | May 14, 2008

The trouble is when you start something and then think of something else!

That really is the trouble isn’t it?  I was enjoying myself in the Bounty Challenge (I believe there are now over $3000 worth of ACEOs!) when I thought about a group I belong to on Etsy called Boomers and Beyond Etsy Street Team or BBEST for short.

We have many members and I wondered if it might be a useful tool to encourage more to take an active part?  You know, have a competition!  Well, I know lots of folk do not or have not every created an ACEO so thought this might allow an artist to stretch themselves.  Remembering that the only rule about an ACEO is that is has to be 3.5″ x 2.5″.  Any medium can be used.

Well, it seemed to do the trick!  Many members have tried their hands at creating an ACEO with wonderful results.  If you want to see any just go to the Etsy site (http://www.etsy.com/) and type in BBEST COMPO to search for all the ACEOs that have been entered.  I am sure you will also find some extraordinary work in shops belonging to the contestants!

Since I am supposed to be one of judges I have been concentrating more on my own creativity for my own shop.  Apart from working with ACEOs I have been experimenting with larger works too.  Even daring to list them on an international encaustic site for comment from other artists.  http://encaustic-international.com

Here are a couple that I have shown there!

 

 

 

 

 

Tropical Rain Forest          

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Rock Fall              

 

 Underground Cavern

Leave a Reply

Categories

